A-State’s Murray named to Doak Walker Award watch list

A-State Athletics
Jerry Scott, Associate Athletics Director for Media Relations

JONESBORO – Arkansas State junior running back Marcel Murray was named Wednesday as a preseason candidate for the 2020 Doak Walker Award, presented annually to the nation’s top college running back.

Murray found a place on the award’s watch list for the second consecutive season and becomes the fifth all-time A-State running back to earn the recognition in at least two different years.  Also finding a place on the prestigious watch list during multiple seasons were A-State standouts Warren Wand (2016-18), Michael Gordon (2014-15), Reggie Arnold (2007-09) and Jonathan Adams (2000-01).  David Oku was also a preseason candidate in 2013.

The Red Wolves have now had a player tabbed to the Doak Walker Award Watch List eight consecutive seasons dating back to 2013.

Murray, already named Preseason All-Sun Belt Conference by multiple publications such as Athlon Sports (3rd Team) and Phil Steele’s (4th Team), completed his sophomore season in 2019 with 170 rushing attempts for 820 yards (4.8 avg.) and six touchdowns.  He earned Honorable Mention All-Sun Belt honors after leading the team in rushing and ranking ninth in the league in yards per game (74.5 avg.).

The Hiram, Ga., native was also named Third Team All-Sun Belt in 2018, the same season he was recognized as the conference’s Freshman of the Year.  His true-freshman season saw him run for 860 yards and eight touchdowns.

The list of this year’s preseason candidates for the Doak Walker Award was announced by the PwC SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors, which will name 10 semifinalists and three finalists, as voted on by the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee, in November.  The committee will cast a second vote in December to determine the recipient.

The Doak Walker Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses college football’s most prestigious awards.  Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 25 awards now boast over 800 recipients, dating to 1935.

Comments are closed.