Five student-athletes from Arkansas colleges nominated for NCAA Woman of the Year

The NCAA released its list of nominees for the 2017 Woman of the Year Award on Tuesday.

The award, established in 1991, honors graduating female college athletes who have exhausted their eligibility and distinguished themselves in academics, athletics, service and leadership throughout their collegiate careers.

This year, a record 543 female college athletes have been nominated by NCAA member schools.

The school nominees represent all three NCAA divisions, with 229 from Division I, 117 from Division II and 197 from Division III. The nominees competed in 21 different women’s sports, and 122 were multisport athletes during their time in college.

Five were nominated from Arkansas colleges. That list includes:

Victoria Amadi, Hendrix
Maddie Dow, Southern Arkansas
Caroline Fredensborg, Arkansas Tech
Jalissa Gum, Arkansas Tech
Markie Schaedig, Arkansas State

Comments are closed.