Shell-Collins, Humphreys receive 2020 Berryhill Awards

HU Athletics
Scott Goode

SEARCY – Emily Shell-Collins, a member of the Harding University track and field team from Bella Vista, Ark., is the 2020 female M.E. Berryhill Award winner. Miles Humphreys, a member of the Harding University baseball team from Jackson, Tenn., is the men’s 2020 M.E. Berryhill Award winner.

The Berryhill Award is the highest award the Harding athletic department gives and is named after former coach and athletics director M.E. Berryhill. The honor is given to a senior male and female athlete who possesses the characteristics of athletic excellence and academic achievement.

Shell-Collins is the Harding record holder in the indoor and outdoor triple jump and in the outdoor heptathlon. She also ranks in Harding’s career top 10 in eight other events. Shell-Collins is a three-time GAC champion and earned eight First Team All-GAC honors.

Shell-Collins is a mathematics and computer science major with a 3.66 GPA. She had two Academic All-GAC and two GAC Distinguished Scholar Athlete honors.

Shell-Collins is the 16th member of the Harding women’s track and field team to earn the Berryhill Award. Recent honorees from the track and field team include Katy Grant (2010), Tiffany Chambers (2013), Ewa Zaborowska (2015), Kelsey Taylor (2016) and Madison Drennan (2018).

Humphreys played in 148 games with 136 starts for the baseball team. He hit .294 in his career with 72 RBIs. Humphreys holds the Harding record with a 45-game on-base streak. During his junior season, he earned Second Team All-GAC, GAC All-Defensive Team and All-Arkansas Collegiate Team honors.

An accounting major with a 3.78 GPA, Humphreys twice earned Academic All-GAC and was a GAC Distinguished Scholar Athlete in 2019.

Humphreys is the sixth Harding baseball player to receive the Berryhill Award since its inception in 1963, joining Matt Calhoun (2014), Chase Presley (2012), Marty Spears (1988), Marty Ninemire (1984) and Steve Smith (1963).

Comments are closed.