Wand, Whaley, Hayden on Doak Walker Award watch list

DALLAS – The PwC SMU Athletic Forum released on Wednesday the preseason candidates for the 2018 Doak Walker Award. The Forum annually presents the award to the nation’s top college running back.

The list includes Arkansas State senior Warren Wand, who has led the Red Wolves’ running game for two consecutive seasons, last season picking up 715 yards.

Two Razorbacks made the list as well. Arkansas junior Devwah Whaley and sophomore Chase Hayden rushed for 588 and 338 yards, respectively, in 2017.

The PwC SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors will name ten semifinalists in November, and three finalists, as voted on by the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee, will be announced on November 20. The committee will cast a second vote beginning November 26 to determine the recipient. The National Selection Committee consists of past recipients, former NFL All-Pro and college All-America running backs, media members and selected special representatives.

The award, which will name its 29th recipient in 2018, is named for SMU’s three-time All-America running back Doak Walker. It is the only major collegiate award that requires all candidates to be in good academic standing and on schedule to graduate within one year of other students of the same classification.

University athletic departments nominate candidates for the award and can continue to do so through October. The complete list of candidates is below.

Cam Akers (So.), Florida State
Darius Anderson (Jr.), TCU
Rodney Anderson (Jr.), Oklahoma
Ryquell Armstead (Sr.), Temple
Alex Barnes (Jr.), Kansas State
LeVante Bellamy (Jr.), Western Michigan
Eno Benjamin (So.), Arizona State
KirVonte Benson (Jr.), Georgia Tech
Jamauri Bogan (Sr.), Western Michigan
Tony Brooks-James (Sr.), Oregon
Brittain Brown (So.), Duke
Spencer Brown (So.), UAB
Squally Canada (Sr.), BYU
Stephen Carr (So.), USC
Michael Carter (So.), North Carolina
Andrew Clair (So.), Bowling Green
Matt Colburn, II (Sr.), Wake Forest
Jeremy Cox (Sr.), Old Dominion
Damarea Crockett (Jr.), Missouri
AJ Dillon (So.), Boston College
J.K. Dobbins (So.), Ohio State
Rico Dowdle (Jr.), South Carolina
Ian Eriksen (Sr.), Eastern Michigan
Travis Etienne (So.), Clemson
Wesley Fields (Sr.), Georgia Southern
Myles Gaskin (Sr.), Washington
Darrin Hall (Sr.), Pittsburgh
Damien Harris (Sr.), Alabama
Chase Hayden (So.), Arkansas
Darrell Henderson (Jr.), Memphis
Karan Higdon (Sr.), Michigan
Justice Hill (Jr.), Oklahoma State
Travis Homer (Jr.), Miami
Xavier Jones (Jr.), SMU
Patrick Laird (Sr.), Cal
Jeremy Larkin (Jr.), Northwestern
Bryce Love (Sr.), Stanford
Izzy Matthews (Sr.), Colorado State
Alexander Mattison (Jr.), Boise State
David Montgomery (Jr.), Iowa State
Jalin Moore (Sr.), Appalachian State
Kelton Moore (Jr), Nevada
Zack Moss (Jr.), Utah
Jacques Patrick (Sr.), Florida State
Emmanuel Reed (Jr.), Buffalo
Miles Sanders (Jr.), Penn State
LJ Scott (Sr.), Michigan State
Devin Singletary (Jr.), Florida Atlantic
Rodney Smith (Sr.), Minnesota
Benny Snell (Jr.), Kentucky
D’Andre Swift (So.), Georgia
J.J. Taylor (So.), Arizona
Jonathan Taylor (So.), Wisconsin
Lexington Thomas (Sr.), UNLV
Tavares Thomas (Sr.), Mid Tennessee
Warren Wand (Sr.), Arkansas State
Da’Leon Ward (So.), Texas Tech
Devwah Whaley (Jr.), Arkansas
Aeris Williams (Sr.), Mississippi State
Trayveon Williams (Jr.), Texas A&M
Kenny Young (Sr.), Miami (Ohio)
Marquis Young (Sr.), Massachusetts

Comments are closed.