Weather forecast changes GAC softball championship tournament

GAC Communications

RUSSELLVILLE, Ark.– Due to anticipated inclement weather in the Bentonville area the Great American Conference announced it would push the start of the 2019 Softball Championships to Friday. In addition, the league announced a change in the format from double elimination to single elimination.

Friday’s play will begin at 10 a.m. with third-seeded Harding facing No. 6 Southern Nazarene. In game two, scheduled to start at 12:30 p.m., defending champion Arkansas Tech will play Southwestern Oklahoma State. The Bulldogs qualified for the GAC Championship for the first time since 2013.

In the third quarterfinal, slated for a 3 p.m. first pitch, regular-season champion Southern Arkansas squares off with Ouachita. Rivals Southeastern Oklahoma State and East Central will meet in the final opening-round contest.

Saturday’s semifinals begin at 1 p.m. with the winners from games one and two playing in the opener. The winners from games three and four will play at 3:30 p.m. The title game will take place at 12:30 p.m. on Saturday.

“In light of the adverse weather forecasts, we feel this change gives our student-athletes the best opportunity to compete without conditions becoming a factor,” GAC Commissioner Will Prewitt said. “Changing to the single-elimination format used in many other Division I and II conferences a year earlier than expected should provide some exciting softball this weekend.”

All seven contests will stream on the GAC Sports Network. For complete coverage and additional information, visit the Softball Championship Central page.

Friday, May 3
G1: #3 Harding vs. #6 Southern Nazarene 10:00 a.m.
G2: #2 Arkansas Tech vs. #7 Southwestern Oklahoma State 12:30 p.m.
G3: #1 Southern Arkansas vs. #8 Ouachita Baptist 3:00 p.m.
G4: #4 Southeastern Oklahoma State vs. #5 East Central 5:30 p.m.

Saturday, May 4:
G5: Winner of G1 vs. Winner of G2 1:00 p.m.
G6: Winner of G3 vs. Winner of G4 3:30 p.m.

Sunday, May 5
G7: Championship game 12:30 p.m.

Comments are closed.